BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument

Opposition Renewed to Trump's Attack on Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument

WASHINGTON― The Sierra Club, Center for Biological Diversity and Western Watersheds Project today renewed their opposition to President Trump’s illegal proclamation to strip protections from Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument in Utah.

The conservation groups, which submitted comments as the first round of public input closes today, also criticized the Interior Department’s disregard for preserving irreplaceable objects of cultural and natural value and its destructive push for dirty fuel development.

“This process is a sham and an insult to millions of Americans who have told Trump to leave these national monuments as they were,” said Randi Spivak, public lands director at the Center for Biological Diversity. “The original boundaries of these spectacular monuments must be protected, along with the wildlife and cultural resources within them. Going through bureaucratic motions doesn’t change the fact that Trump’s actions are illegal.”

Read more.

Learn more about saving our national monuments.

Contact: Randi Spivak.

LATEST 10 PRESS RELEASES

April 20, 2018 – Appeal Challenges Oil Drilling in California's Carrizo Plain National Monument

April 19, 2018 – California Protects Tricolored Blackbirds, Lassics Lupine Wildflower

April 19, 2018 – Groups Rally for Public Lands, Protest Modesto 'Range Rights' Conference Featuring Ammon Bundy

April 19, 2018 – Trump Administration's Fracking Plan Ignores Health Threats, Worsens Deadly Ozone in Western Colorado

April 19, 2018 – Trump Administration Ignores Deepwater Horizon Lessons on Eve of Anniversary

April 18, 2018 – House Agriculture Committee Advances Farm Bill Filled With Sweeping Attacks on Environment

April 18, 2018 – L.A. County Approves Wildlife-killing Sprawl Development

18 de abril de 2018 – Vaquita, Tortugas, Lobos entre las 10 especies en peligro más icónicas de México

April 18, 2018 – Vaquita, Turtles, Wolves Among Mexico's Top 10 Most Iconic Endangered Species

April 17, 2018 – Senate Republicans Launch Attack on Clean Water Act Groundwater Protections

 

+ PRESS RELEASE ARCHIVES

THE CENTER IN THE NEWS

PERSPECTIVES AND OP-EDS

THE CENTER ON MEDIUM

MEDIA-READY SPECIES PHOTOS

MAPS

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252, ext. 315
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of African elephant by Peter Pham/Flickr